Nobel prizes for strong interactions

Indian Lattice Gauge Theory Initiative,
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Homi Bhabha Road, Mumbai, 400005, India


We are all made of atoms linked together by chemical bonds. By breaking up atoms we can see that they consist of electrons orbiting a nucleus. We break up nuclei to see that it contains protons and neutrons. The protons and neutrons are made of quarks, but they cannot be broken up into quarks. There is a million dollar prize for proving this.


Lattice 2017 will be held in Granada, Spain on 19--24 June, 2017. A complete list of meetings held in TIFR is available.

Gauge configurations

Some gauge configurations are available for use on request (see a list). Please request gauge configurations from ilgti at theory fullstop tifr dot res period in.

Nobel prizes for strong interactions

1908 Ernest Rutherford
1911 Marie Curie
1921 Frederick Soddy
1922 Francis W. Aston
1934 Harold C. Urey
1935 James Chadwick
1935 Frederic Joliot and Irene Joliot-Curie
1938 Enrico Fermi
1939 Ernest Lawrence
1948 Patrick M. S. Blackett
1949 Hideki Yukawa
1950 Cecil Powell
1951 John D. Cockcroft and Ernest T. S. Walton
1959 Emilio G. Segre and Owen Chamberlain
1960 Donald A. Glaser
1961 Robert Hofstadter Rudolf L. Mossbauer
1963 Eugene P. Wigner, Maria Goeppert-Mayer and J. Hans D. Jensen
1938 Enrico Fermi
1967 Hans Bethe
1968 Luis W. Alvarez
1969 Murray Gell-Mann
1975 Aage N. Bohr, Ben R. Mottelson and Leo J. Rainwater
1976 Burton Richter and Samuel C. C. Ting
1980 James W. Cronin and Val L. Fitch
1982 Kenneth G. Wilson
1990 Jerome I. Friedman, Henry W. Kendall, Richard E. Taylor
1992 George Charpak
2004 David J. Gross, H. David Politzer and Frank Wilczek
2008 Yoichiro Nambu, Makoto Kobayashi and Toshihide Masakawa